master and slave

Soo amazing to know that God is my master, and not sin. I’m no longer enslaved to sin, and not obligated to serve it. Why is it that when temptation comes, I am so quick to ignorantly obey it? It’s because my mind is so often distracted by useless things. I am not always aware of Who my master is. I so easily forget. I live by my five senses, unaware of the spiritual reality that exists. As if the seen is all there really is to life. But no, it’s the unseen that really matters. My mind was blown away from what I read in The Pursuit of God(ch 4) Tozer sure has a way of wording things:


“Sin has so clouded the lenses of our hearts that we cannot see that other reality, the City of God, shining around us. The world of sense triumphs. The visible becomes the enemy of the invisible; the temporal, of the eternal. That is the curse inherited by every member of Adam’s tragic race. At the root of the Christian life lies belief in the invisible. The object of the Christian’s faith is unseen reality… As we begin to focus upon God the things of the spirit will take shape before our inner eyes. Obedience to the word of Christ will bring an inward revelation of the Godhead. It will give acute perception enabling us to see God even as is promised to the pure in heart. A new God consciousness will seize upon us and we shall begin to taste and hear and inwardly feel the God who is our life and our all.
There will be seen the constant shining of the light that lighteth every man that cometh into the world. More and more, as our faculties grow sharper and more sure, God will become to us the great All, and His Presence the glory and wonder of our lives.”

Whew. How deep is that. The reason I so easily give into temptation, because there is a veil within my heart consisting of the “self-sins”. Self-righteousness, self-sufficiency, self-worth, self-centeredness, self-confidence, self-love, etc. As I learn to spend more time alone with my Creator, I will be able to slowly root those out, and remove the veil in my heart. Only then can I live in total awareness of His Presence every moment. He is worthy!

One Comment on “master and slave”

  1. olga says:

    ahhhh too much good stuff
    thanks for blogging about this and again reminding us to “reckon on reality”


Leave a Reply

